MySpace is changing the way we think about everything. Being deleted from someone’s friends list has become the ultimate social snub, changing your relationship status equals real commitment or it means things are really over if things have gone the other way. The top 8 has become a way to rank who’s most important in our lives. We communicate with our friends through “the space”, request help moving, share pictures, invite people to parties and promote whatever it is we’re doing in our lives.

The thing about myspace is it makes me feel like I always have to be looking over my shoulder. I feel like there are things I should leave off of my blog in order to not offend people, break personal boundaries or give TMI to people it’s not meant for. I love the space, don’t get me wrong, but there are some things I get hung up on here.

The thing I’ve been hung up on lately is the “relationship status” option. I hate that you have to either be “single” or “in a relationship.” What quantifies a relationship? What if you change to the “in a relationship” status to early and things don’t work out and you’ve already basically told the whole world you’re taken? OR what if you think you’re “in a relationship” and the other person doesn’t? Have you just messed things up by changing it?

This is why I think there should be an option for “dating somebody.” That sounds a lot less threatening in my opinion. When you’re dating somebody both parties know that’s the case, regardless of what it means to either of you. Vagueness has really been the key in my past few “relationships.” As long as we don’t define ourselves I’ve been fine not knowing my status and not knowing who else they’re seeing, but in the past couple months I’ve had a change of heart.

I’ve changed over to what I used to think of as “the dark side.” Yes, you read that right. Cynical, relationship-hating, jaded, uncaring Becca has found someone who changed her mind about all that. For the past two years or so I’ve been totally anti-everything lovey dovey. Valentine’s Day, anniversaries, birthdays, presents, love notes – everything nice about being part of a “we” has disgusted me for quite some time.  I thought for sure I was past all the romantical things those sickening couples do for each other, but it looks like I was wrong.

I try to keep my relationships on the DL most of the time, mostly because I think it’s too personal, I’m not really that interested in the person, I don’t think it will last and I figure most people will figure things out eventually. In this case I haven’t made it public, partly because we were both so unsure of where things were going and partly because I was afraid of ruining things. Most of you have seen us together though and have figured it out on your own, but I thought I’d just write a blog to let people know who don’t see me often enough. So there you have it folks, I’m officially off the market. Don’t be surprised if I turn into one of those girls who think the world is all puppy dogs and rainbows.

Hahaha, I doubt that I’ll really be that much less cynical. We’ll see….

PS I really hope I’m not regretting this announcement in a few weeks (see, there’s the cynicism).

