I’m not a big fan of holidays. I don’t like all of the expectations that come with most traditional holidays, especially the holidays where gifts are EXPECTED. The worst offenders are, by far, Christmas, Valentine’s Day and Easter. But there is one holiday that has always been my favorite: St. Patrick’s Day! I love it because there’s so little to it. You wear green and you drink a lot. How much better does it get? No gifts, no expectations, nothing.

Plus, what isn’t there to like about clovers, irish drinking songs, good luck, Guinness, leprechauns, rainbows and everything else we associate with the Irish?

Of course, the original holiday wasn’t so commercialized. It started, like many other holidays we celebrate, as a religious celebration of St. Patrick, the man who brought Christianity to Ireland. It is said that he drove the snakes out of Ireland, but this is more likely a metaphoric expression as serpents and snakes were pagan symbols in the druidic religions that existed before he came. However, it is true there are no native snakes in Ireland. If you don’t like snakes, I highly recommend moving there.

I’ve been doing a little research on the holiday today and I found out that green is actually considered an unlucky color in Ireland! Apparently it’s the color of fairies and they are likely to steal people, especially children, if they are wearing too much of the color. There’s something to keep in mind this Friday…

Enjoy the holiday!

PS My myfriend Mitch, an Irishman himself, donated $50 to my Costa Rica fund! When you see him this Friday tell him he’s fab for that! Also, remember you can donate by clicking the link on my front page. I only need to save up another $1120 and I’ll be saving the sea turtles

