I went to the mall during the weekend to use up a giftcard I’ve been carrying around for more than a year. While I was there I passed by Barnes and Noble. I tried to resist the temptation to go in. “I’ll just look through the windows, there’s not harm in that,” I told myself. But in the front window was the book “A Million Little Pieces,” which I’ve been coveting for months. It was in the biography section, so I decided to just go in and have a look. I didn’t even make it to the book because another one caught my eye. It was called “Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress,” written by Susan Jane Gilman.

I read the Author’s Note at the beginning and I was hooked. I had to buy it. I’ve only read the first chapter so far, but I know it’s going to be a great book, just from this excerpt alone:

“I’ve written this book, in part, because it seems that all of us could use a good laugh these days. Yet I’ve also written it because so many of the stories women are currently telling are all about getting a man. Or about getting over a man. Or about getting laid. Or about not getting laid. Or about not getting laid and not getting a man, but deciding we’re okay with it.

“Having spent criminal amounts of time sleeping with inappropriate men myself, then bragging about it, I love hearing about other people’s romantic and sexual ineptitude as much as the next person. Yet ultimately, there’s so much more to women’s lives that’s worthy of attention and ridicule. While a few stories do involve a boy, a bra, and a booty call, mostly their focus is elsewhere – on other passions and delusions that we all experience in one form or another.

“It’s my hope that these ‘coming of age’ stories make readers laugh, and prove once and for all that a gril doesn’t need a guy in her life in order to act like a complete idiot. Certainly I, at least, never have.”

The first chapter was hilarious and I can only see it getting better as it goes through her life. (It’s auto-biographical). I already know this is going to be one of those books that will change my perspective….

