In the past few days you may have noticed, as I have, that the sun is back! Spring is on its way ladies and gentlemen and the trails are calling to me. I have this weekend off and I’m about to break my hiking boots out of hibernation.

In deciding on where to go I’ve had a chance to reflect on how lucky I am to live in Northern California. We have the coast and the mountains. There’s great rock climbing, skiing, kayaking, river rafting and mountain and coastal trails within a few hours’ drive. Some of my most favorite places to get outdoors are still too cold for this time of year. Lake Tahoe is one of the most gorgeous hiking spots we have available to us, but it’d be better for some snowshoeing this time of year. So I’ve decided to head to the coast.

A few weeks ago Sofia and I set out to Half Moon Bay and just being by the ocean made me feel so much calmer and at ease than I had felt in weeks. She and I only stayed for a short time because we arrived late in the day and the sun was already setting, making for an awfully chilly walk on the beach. I’ve been wanting to go back to the ocean ever since just to sit and think for awhile with the sound of the waves crashing against the shore in the background.

With that said I’m still having trouble deciding between two of my favorite hiking spots Pomo Canyon and Point Reyes. Normally I would pick Point Reyes in a heartbeat because they have so many challenging trails to choose from and they have a great cliff, known as Arch Rock, where I love to stop for lunch. The view from Arch Rock is amazing and the trail going back to the parking lot from that point is pretty easy. BUT many of the trails were severely damaged during winter storms last month.

Point Reyes:

Pomo Canyon is just as nice, but I think the drive is a bit farther. Plus, it gets really muddy there. Donald and I took a camping trip there last summer after a rain and we were really muddy after our hike to the beach.

Maybe I should try somewhere new though. Does anyone know of a great hiking spot near the coast? Or a trail that leads to the ocean?

