This is an update to my Recycled Diamonds blog. One of my friends left me a comment telling me that there IS a store that believes in ecological and humanitarian jewelry practices! Check out www.greenkarat.com.

Oh, and I was right about there being enough already mined precious metals to last us awhile without having to continue mining.

An excerpt from the site:

“While gold is valuable enough to provide an incentive to recycle, significant amounts of gold sit idle, while mining continues at a pace of 2,500 tons a year. In fact, there is enough gold above ground (already mined) to satisfy all demands of the jewelry industry for the next 50 years. Much of it sits in bank vaults and in the form of old and unused jewelry.”

If you’re considering buying jewelry or an engagement ring I highly suggest taking a look at their site. They can also make custom rings. I’m so sending mine in to them to re-do for me!

