This is something that has been bothering me for awhile. It’s about the labels we choose to give ourselves. As you may have noticed, my front page says “single” in the relationship status box. But as many of you know I’m going through a divorce right now.

So here’s my question: Do I have to wear the “divorced” label? The way I figure it, we never had kids so there’s nothing really still tying us together once the divorce is final so why should I advertise to the world that I’m a 25-year-old divorcee? I don’t want to be lumped in the category with all the sad, lonely divorced people, or even worse – the divorced with kids people. So I don’t put it out there, but if someone asked I’d surely tell them. I’m not going to lie about it, I just don’t think there’s reason to flaunt it. Is that unethical of me? Are you really only single if you’ve never been married? I’m still all alone aren’t I? Hmmmmm….something to ponder.

