When I was younger I would get really caught up in mystery novels, but I would get so nervous toward the middle that I’d have to read the last page to assure myself that everything would turn out alright in the end. Sometimes I wish life could be like that. When I’m in a bookstore I can read the book’s cover, I can read the first page and I can read the last page. Sometimes after just the cover I know it’s something that doesn’t interest me or something not worth my time and I can move on to the next book. Why can’t life be like that? I don’t even need the very last page, how bout just the last page of an ongoing saga? Is that too much to ask?

Why do we let ourselves get caught up in things we know are bad for us? Why do we let things into our lives when we know it’s going to hurt in the end? How do we know and not stop ourselves? Is it hope or is it stupidity?

I really don’t know the answers, but I thought I had grown out of my “last page first” stage of life. I guess it depends on the book. Truth is, I just stopped reading mystery novels. From now on, I don’t think I’m going to read anymore books without reading more than just the cover to see if it’s worth my time and energy.

