Have you ever had a secret so awful you didn’t want to share it with anyone because you knew they’d judge, but you felt like you couldn’t keep it inside any longer? It’s torture to hold a secret in sometimes, at least for me, especially when it’s a really good/bad one, but who can you share it with when you know they’ll be just as tortured by holding your secret in?

I think most people can relate to the secret-keeping/sharing dilemma, which is probably why this website became so popular. This guy started a blog where he posted images of postcards he asked people to send him in the mail. The postcards are usually pretty artistic and on them are written the persons deepest, darkest secret. Just one secret they couldn’t keep inside any longer, but they couldn’t tell anyone else either.

The site is totally anonymous and a collection of the postcards is now on display in Washington, D.C., while the blogger has a book coming out called, “Postsecret: Extraordinary Confessions from Ordinary Lives.” I just bought it with my Barnes and Noble gift card from Kassie and I can’t wait for it to arrive! I’m a secret stalker of this blog. Some of the secrets are really compelling and horrifying, but others aren’t too big a deal. I’ve always wanted to send one in, but I don’t know if I have a big enough secret to send in…

Also, this site got me thinking about success. This guy was a nobody with a silly blog idea and now he’s famous, syndicated even. Isn’t it amazing how some things just catch on? I don’t know how there are so many ideas in this world that flop when things like reality TV and a postsecret blog can make someone famous. Life is weird.

Anyway, if you have a secret you haven’t been able to tell anyone, you know have an outlet. Have fun!

