I’ve always loved romance movies, but I’ve decided they give people (aka me) unachievable expectations of love and life so I’m not watching them anymore. That’s right, no more sappy chick flicks for me. All they show in romantic movies are the happy times and they leave out all of the difficult things people have to go through in relationships, which makes people believe that life in a relationship should never have problems. It’s what makes people run away at the first sight of trouble instead of sticking around to work things out. It’s also what makes people think that one stupid fight is going to cause a break up. Mature people know that it won’t, but we can’t all act mature all the time can we?

Hollywood is so unrealistic. Not only by way of physical appearance, but by way of how things happen. Of course life can’t be resolved in only two hour’s time, but we expect it to. These days people all seem SO impatient. We can’t wait to get done with college, get a great job and start “real” life – all while life is sitting right there in front of us. No, everything doesn’t happen as quickly as we want it to, but things do work out and everything happens in this life for a reason.

I’ve given up most TV shows and now I’m giving up those damn chick flicks. I don’t want to have unrealistic expectations for relationships. It doesn’t make anyone happy. By the way, that doesn’t mean I won’t have expectations or standards. It just means I won’t expect everyday to be a great day just because it starts out great.

And, just so you know, this is a painful decision for me because I don’t like mind-numbing comedies or scary movies either. I guess all I’ve got left are action flicks – anyone up for watching The Last Samurai with me?

