Secretary of State Bruce McPherson visited our  local high schools today to emphasize to students the importance of voting. I wasn’t surprised to hear him say that of 18-24 year olds in California who are eligible to vote, only half of them are registered and half of those registered don’t even bother to show up to the polls. Pretty sad that our generation is so apathetic about the democratic process. We take it for granted and it’s not. We could lose it all if we aren’t careful…not any time soon but still.

Well, while there I went to interview a kid who had been having a pretty deep conversation with McPherson about the teacher initiative on the ballot. I wanted to ask him if he was registered yada yada yada, but he’s not even 18! He just turned 17 this month! What?!?! And you’re interested in politics? Not possible! But it was true. So, this gives me hope. Perhaps there are still some people our age (and younger) who are paying attention. We definitely need someone to pay attention.

On a side note: I’m super sad because I haven’t been paying attention to anything going on around me lately. I really need to take a week off just to catch up on national events. I will have a news update coming soon so that should help…

PS If you aren’t registered to vote you have until the 24th so you have no excuses! Educate yourself on the issues and get out there to vote. Nothing is worse than not exercising the rights given us by the constitution.

“Only one of four people in the 18 to 24 age group is voting. Democracy deserves better than that.” – Bruce McPherson, today.

