Green Day, the flavor of the week, the band of the year, winner of seven MTV Music Awards, was in Sacramento last night rocking the socks off thousands of adoring fans. Billie Joe is an amazing performer and kept the crowd entertained for the entire three hours (yes, THREE HOURS) he was on stage.

I was never a huge Green Day fan. I mean, I like their music well enough, especially their latest album, but they were never my favorites until last night. Not only do a lot of their songs carry a deeper meaning, but the music is incredible and even playing live the band was amazing.

Billie Joe was running all over stage, interacting with fans, changing costumes and sounding exactly like he does on cd. The band even played some old-school songs like “Shout!” and “We are the champions” as well as a good portion of their older music. Billie managed to bring politics into his performance without seeming overzealous or preachy. He even brought some fans on stage to play some of the instruments and got one fan to do a stage dive, which I’ve never seen in real life, nor do I think I could ever do. Green Day is a band that has managed to impress me and my jaded, cynical mind even when I wasn’t planning on being impressed.

Not only was I impressed by the fact that Billie Joe has known the bass player, Mike Dirst, since he was ten years old, I was impressed by Billie Joe’s willingness to speak out against the supposed majority in this country right now. Several of his new songs carry a political message and he made a point last night of telling the audience that it is our RIGHT to speak out against a government we don’t support. Political activism seems to have been lost on our generation. I know a lot of teenagers who aren’t interested in politics. Hell, I know a lot of college graduates who aren’t interested in politics, but having their idol or someone in the spotlight tell them that politics and world affairs are important will definitely make an impression. And, although he could just be anti-establishment because it’s cool I believe that it will spark the interest of some of these kids. I suppose it helped that he was anti-Bush. Maybe if he was out there slinging right-wing rhetoric I wouldn’t have been so impressed by him.

Sorry this review has begun to turn into a political soap box. Just know you missed out on a fabulous concert. You could have been the guy Billie Joe pulled up on stage to play his guitar and then gave it to you afterward, but you weren’t because you missed out on the best concert of the year for sure. If the opportunity to see this band presents itself again you should take advantage of it because they are amazing.

