I have always admired butterflies because to me they are a symbol of change, of new beginnings. They start off as little caterpillars eating leaves and not realizing what lies in store. Then they make their cocoons and a few months later they emerge in a completely new form; completely changed and more beautiful than ever. Every butterfly is unique, as are humans.

The difference with us humans is that we go through changes throughout our lives. We dont just get to go into a cocoon and emerge as the person we always knew we could be. We strive to better ourselves and we are in a constant state of change, yet somehow it seems that change is what we fear the most.

These thoughts on change and new beginnings are brought on by some major changes in my own life. I recently graduated from college. Im (hopefully) going to be starting a new job, finally as a reporter. And Im going to be single for the first time in my adult life. Yes, you read that right. Me and Donald are filing our divorce paperwork on Tuesday, but I know this is the best thing for both of us. And I dont want anyone’s sympathy, so please dont feel sorry for me.

Like my big sis always says, Everything happens for a reason. This is one of those times. Change is a scary thing for sure, but its something we learn to deal with and something that helps us grow and become better. So, heres to new beginnings!

